Image

9th October 2013, Strand

I have just come back from a food distribution session on the Strand. As I was crossing the Waterloo Bridge, I kept rubbing my hands together to keep myself warm. The drastic change in temperature throughout the day made the walk at night much less pleasant than that in the day. My walk home was only less than 20 minutes long and the whole time I was just thinking about how nice and warm it would be when I finally get back into my room, but that’s not the case for the homeless.

Winter is approaching and the temperature is dropping fast. According to statistics from the Department of Health, the average increase in winter deaths in England and Wales is 1,560 per week compared to non-winter months. Can you imagine staying out in the cold, living on the streets for weeks, days, or even years with barely enough to keep yourself fed and warm?

Many of the homeless people I met today mentioned that some gloves and wooly hats would be nice, when asked if they wanted anything in particular. If you live in London and have any spare winter clothes and accessories such as gloves, hats or scarves that you would like to donate to the homeless. Please feel free to contact me to arrange a time and place, so I can collect them from you.

It may just be a small simple act, but you cannot underestimate the impact it can have in someone else’s life. In a world full of people who couldn’t care less, be someone who couldn’t care more. Thank you for your support! đŸ™‚

P.S. Duvets and pillows would be nice too! 

Written by Vivyanne Joy Soo

